



ECONOMIC VITALITY COMMITTEE REPORT

November 18, 2021 Economic Development

TITLE: SELECTION OF EVC CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR FOR 2022

At a regularly scheduled EVC meeting each year, the committee is asked to appoint a Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson for the coming year. Below is Section 7 of the resolution that defines the structure of the EVC, which pertains to committee officers:

Committee officers shall be selected and serve as follows:

- a. The Committee by majority vote shall elect for a term of one year a chairperson and vice chairperson from among its members. Officers shall be elected at the last meeting of each calendar year and assume office at the first meeting of the next calendar year.
- b. The chairperson shall be responsible for the conduct of the meetings, the preparation of agenda and other duties normally associated with a chairperson.
- c. The vice chairperson shall perform those duties assigned by the chairperson and act for the chairperson in the latter's absence.
- d. No member of the Committee shall serve more than two successive full terms as chairperson.
- e. The Economic Development Director or his/her designated representative shall serve as secretary to the Committee.

During both 2020 and 2021, Steve Van Dorn served as Chair and Shareef Mahdavi served as Vice-Chair; Steve Van Dorn has now served the maximum of two consecutive terms as chair.

Tracy Farhad has expressed interest in serving as Chair, and Tiffany Cadrette has expressed interest in serving as the Vice-Chair, for 2022. It would also be appropriate for any committee member desiring to serve as the Chair or Vice-Chair, or suggesting another member for nomination to these positions, to contact Lisa Adamos prior to the meeting; nominations may also be made at the meeting.

ACTION: SELECT AN EVC CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR FOR 2022