EXHIBIT A

DRAFT CONDITIONS OF APPROVAL
P12-0054
5200 Franklin Drive, Ste. 110
Academic Center of Volitation (a State-registered heritage school)

PROJECT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS

Planning Division

1.

This Conditional Use Permit shall be null and void unless Case No. PUD-80-16-
15M is approved by the City to allow heritage schools as a conditionally
permitted use at the subject location.

The proposed Academic Center of Volitation (a State-registered heritage school)
shall maintain its heritage school registration with California Department of
Education during its operation. Failure to maintain the heritage school
registration with California Department of Education may result in this application
being reviewed by the Director of Community Development for possible future
action by the Planning Commission.

If additional hours of operation, number of children or staff, or activities beyond
what is stated in the applicant’s written narrative, dated “Received March 22,
20127, on file with the Planning Division, are desired, prior City review and
approval is required. The Director of Community Development may approve the
modification or refer the matter to the Planning Commission if judged to be
substantial.

The exterior windows and doors of the business and the doors to the common
hallway shall remain closed when not being used for ingress/egress purposes.
The applicant shall inform all students not to loiter or make loud noises outside
the suite and building before or after classes.

The applicant shall inform all patrons that the facility is located in a business park
and may be subject to noise, odors, etc.

Prior to an individual working and/or providing services at the facility, said
persons shall complete and pass a criminal background check. The applicant
shall submit a letter to the Planning Division stating that all persons at the facility
have satisfied this condition.

Prior to an individual working and/or providing services at the facility, the
applicant shall require said persons to undergo and pass first-aid and CPR
training. The applicant shall ensure that these certifications are current at all
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times. The applicant shall submit a letter to the Planning Division stating that all
persons at the facility have satisfied this condition.

8. Children 12 years and younger shall be signed in/out of the subject school by a
parent and/or legal guardian.

9. Children 12 years and younger shall be escorted to and from restrooms by
school staff.

10. Prior to issuance of a business license, the applicant shall prepare and submit a
disaster plan to the Planning Division and shall ensure it is in place for the
facility/patrons.

11.At no time shall balloons, banners, pennants, or other attention-getting devices
be utilized on the site except as allowed by Section 18.96.060K of the
Pleasanton Municipal Code for a grand opening.

STANDARD CONDITIONS

Community Development Department

12.The applicant shall pay all fees to which the use may be subject to prior to
issuance of permits. The type and amount of the fees shall be those in effect at
the time the permit is issued.

13.To the extent permitted by law, the project applicant shall defend (with counsel
reasonable acceptable to the City), indemnify and hold harmless the City, its City
Council, its officers, boards, commissions, employees and agents from and
against any claim (including claims for attorneys fees), action, or proceeding
brought by a third party against the indemnified parties and the applicant to
attack, set aside, or void the approval of the project or any permit authorized
hereby for the project, including (without limitation) reimbursing the City its
attorneys fees and costs incurred in defense of the litigation. The City may, in its
sole discretion, elect to defend any such action with attorneys of its choice.

Planning Division

14.The proposed use shall be in substantial conformance to Exhibit B, dated
“‘Received March 22, 2012,” on file with the Planning Division, except as modified
by these conditions. Minor changes to the plans or operation may be allowed
subject to the approval of the Director of Community Development.

15.1f the operation of this use results in conflicts pertaining to parking, noise,
traffic/circulation, or other factors, at the discretion of the Director of Community
Development, this conditional use permit may be submitted to the Planning
Commission for their subsequent review at a public hearing.
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16.This conditional use permit approval will lapse one year from the effective date of
approval unless Academic Center of Volitation receives a business license within
that time.

17.Academic Center of Volitation shall maintain the area surrounding the building in
a clean and orderly manner at all times.

18.This approval does not include approval of any signange for Academic Center of
Volitation. If signs are desired, Academic Center of Volitation shall submit a sign
proposal to the City for review and approval prior to sign installation.

19.Changes to the exterior of the building shall not be made without prior approval
from the Planning Division.

CODE REQUIREMENTS

Applicants/Developers are responsible for complying with all applicable Federal, State,
and City codes and regulations regardless of whether or not the requirements are part
of this list. The following items are provided for the purpose of highlighting key
requirements.

Fire

20.Portable fire extinguisher(s) shall be provided and installed in accordance with
the 2007 California Fire Code and Fire Code Standard #10-1. Minimum
approved size for all portable fire extinguishers shall be 2A 10B:C.

{end}
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EXHIBIT C

THE CITY OF

April 4, 2012

Leon Yuan
7950 Dublin Boulevard, Ste. 102
Dublin, CA 94568

Dear Mr. Yuan:

RE: PUD-80-16-15M
Effective Date: April 25, 2012

The City has completed its review of your application for a minor modification to an
approved development plan, Case PUD-80-16 (6155 Stoneridge Drive and 5000, 5020,
5064, 5100, 5142, and 5200 Franklin Drive) to establish state registered heritage schools as
conditionally permitted uses.

In accordance with City Council policy, notice of the proposed PUD minor modification was
sent to the surrounding property owners on March 21, 2012. No request was made for a
formal hearing. :

Based upon the information submitted, it is my determination that the above changes are
not substantial in nature since the overall plan for the site will remain the same. Therefore,
in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 18.68 of the Municipal Code of the City of
Pleasanton, | am granting a minor modification, Case PUD-80-16-15M, subject to the
following conditions:

1. Condition number 27 of Ordinance 973 is amended to add state registered heritage
schools within an existing building as conditionally permitted uses at the properties
located at 6155 Stoneridge Drive and 5000, 5020, 5064, 5100, 5142, and 5200
Franklin Drive.

2. To the extent permitted by law, the project applicant shall defend (with counsel
reasonably acceptable to the City), indemnify and hold harmless the City, its City
Council, its officers, boards, commissions, employees and agents from and against
any claim (including claims for attorneys fees) , action, or proceeding brought by a
third party against the indemnified parties and the applicant to attack, set aside, or
void the approval of the project or any permit authorized hereby for the project,
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including (without limitation) reimbursing the City its attorneys fees and costs incurred
in defense of the litigation. The City may, in its sole discretion, elect to defend any
such action with attorneys of its choice.

3. Except, as modified by Conditions 1 and 2 above, all conditions of Cases PUD-80-16
through PUD-80-16-14M shall remain in full force and effect.

Approval of the minor modification will become effective on April 25, 2012 (Pleasanton
Municipal Code Chapter 18.68), unless appealed prior to that time.

If you have any questions with regard to this matter, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Sincerely,
Ja Stern

Planring Manager

c. Dick Oppenheimer, 5200 Franklin LLC, 2475 Filbert Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Parkway Properties, Meyer Center, 6700 Koll Center Parkway, Suite 156, Pleasanton,
CA 94566
John Fennell, Cushman & Wakefield of California, Inc., 1333 N. California Boulevard,
Suite 550, Walnut Creek, CA 94596
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EXHIBIT D

;.
oy ~
Fiids Depadment of

EDUCATIEN

~ Annual Heritage School Transaction Page

Return to Heritage_School Information

Transaction Information

Transaction Number 38420121435288088000

Submitted Date and Time 1/25/2012 10:43:52 PM

Heritage School Information
Name of Heritage School ACADEMIC CENTER OF VOLITATION,CORP.

Name of the person, firm, association, JINYU JIN
partnership, or corporation under which this
heritage school does business

Additional name (if any) of the person, firm,
association, partnership, or corporation
under which this heritage school does
business

County in which heritage school is located ~ Alameda

Address 7950 DUBLIN BLVD. STE102

City DUBLIN

School Zip Code 94568 -

Type of heritage school 1

Heritage School telephone number (925)353-8888

Name of the state or national cultural or Chinese School Association in the United States (CSAUS)
language association in which membership

is maintained

Statistical Information
Range of student ages. Youngest: 5 Years

(Youngest may be no younger than 4 year
and 9 months and older no more than 18
years)

Oldest Student age Oldest: 12 Years
Enroliment by grade span (Elementary, K-68) 20

Enroliment by grade span (Secondary, 7-12) 1

Enroliment by grade span (Ungraded) 0

Total enroliment 21

http://www3.cde.ca.gov/hsrs/display.aspx 3/27/2012
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I_J_\lumber of teachers 6

— Administrative Staff

Director or Principal Officer name Mr. RUI ZHAO
Director or Principal Officer address 7950 DUBLIN BLVD. STE102
" " |'Director or Principal Officer City  ~~~ DUBLIN™ — = B - - - B - T -
Director or Principal Officer Zip Code 94568 -
E-mail Address ZHAORAY@HOTMAIL.COM

An additional Director or Principal Officer is optional but if a name is entered; the address, city, and zip code must be
entered.

Additional Director or Principal Officer name
(optional)

Additional Director or Principal Officer
address

Additional Director or Principal Officer City

Additional Director or Principal Officer Zip -
Code

Additional E-mail Address (optional)

Acknowledgements and Statutory Notices

By completing and submitting your Heritage School Registration Form, the filer has indicated that he/she has read and
undertands each statement and each referenced EC section, below, and that this heritage school is in compliance.

s All Heritage School Registration Forms are public documents viewable by the public.

# This heritage school maintains true and accurate records of the following at the address stated: i) Courses of study offered.
iiy Faculty names, addresses, and the educational qualifications of each faculty member.

# The Heritage School Registration Form is not a license or authorizatio operate a heritage school.

# Filing of the Heritage School Registration Form shall not be interpreted to mean, and it shall be unlawful for any school to
expressly or impliedly represent by any means whatsoever, that the State of California, the Superintendent of Public
Instruction, the State Board of Education, the CDE, or any division or bureau of the Department, or any accrediting agency
has made any evaluation, recognition, approval, or endorsement of the school or course unless this is an actual fact (see £C
Section 33195).

= Heritage school officials are responsible for initiating contact with the appropriate local authorities (e.g., city and/or county)
regarding compliance with ordinances governing health, safety and fire standards, business licensing, and zoning
requirements applicable to heritage schools.

= This heritage school will retain a copy of this document and record of payment to the CDE.

= A person, firm, association, partnership, or corporation offering or conducting heritage school instruction shall not employ a
person who would be prohibited from employment by a public school district pursuant to any provision of EC Section 33195
because of his or her conviction for any crime [see EC Section 33195.1(a)(1)].

# The Heritage School Registration process is not complete until the required payment has been received by the CDE for the
Heritage Enrichment Resource Fund.

Section 33195(d}}.

% In the case of any heritage school where an instructor also serves as the administrator of the school, the heritage school
shall make the electronic registration form available upon request to the parents or guardians of all pupils currently enrolled
in the school and to any parent or guardian considering whether to enroll his or her child [see EC Section 33195.1(b}].

= The heritage school will ensure that criminal record summary information for the employees of any entity that has a contract
with the heritage school has been obtained through a manner authorized by the Department of Justice (DOJ) and used
appropriately, pursuant to EC Section 33195.2(a) through (i).

# A hernitage school contract with an entity for the construction, reconstruction, rehabilitation, or repair of a school facility where
contract employees will have contact, other than limited contact, with pupils shall ensure the safety of the pupils by one or
more specific methods, consistent with £C Section 33195.3(a} through (c).

= Filing the electronic Heritage School Registration Form with the California Department of Education is required annually
between January 1 and 31, and must be accompanied by a fee, as determined by the Superintendent of Public Instruction
[see ED 33195.5].

# The director and staff of this heritage school are in compliance with all health, safety, and parent notification requirements
[see EC Section 33195.6(a) through {f}}.

http://www3.cde.ca.gov/hsrs/display.aspx 3/27/2012
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Electronic Signature

By submitting this form and the electronic signature, the filer of this Heritage School Registration Form has declared under
penalty of perjury and the laws of the State of California that he/she is the owner or other head of the school, and the
information contained herein is true, accurate, and complete.

The filer also acknowledged compliance with the following:

A person, firm, association, partnership, or corporation offering or conducting heritage school instruction shall not employ
a person who would be prohibited from employment by a public school district pursuant to any provision of this code
because of his or her conviction for any crime.

Name of owner or head of this heritage JINYU JIN

school

Electronic signature - Birth Month ***** Not displayed for security purposes.
Electronic signature - Birthday ***** Not displayed for security purposes.
Electronic signature - Question ***** Not displayed for security purposes.
Electronic signature - Answer ***** Not displayed for security purposes.

Questions: Heritage Schools | heritageschoois@cde.ca.gov | $16-445-7331

California Department of Education
1430 N Street
Sacramento, (A 95814 v Wab Policy

http://'www3.cde.ca.gov/hsrs/display.aspx 3/27/2012
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EXHIBIT E

EDUCATION CODE
SECTION 33195-33195.6

33195. (a) Every person, firm, association, partnership, or
corporation operating a heritage school as defined in Section 33195.4
shall, between the 1st and 31st day of Tanuary of each year,
commencing on January 1, 2011, file with the Superintendent an
electronic registration form, under penalty of perjury, by the owner
or other head setting forth the following information for the current
year:

(1) All names, whether real or fictitious, of the person, firm,
assoclation, partnership, or corporation under which it has done and
1s doing business.

(2) The address, including city and street, of every place of
doing business of the person, firm, association, partnership, or
corporation within the State of California.

(3) The names and addresses, including city and street, of the
directors, 1f any, and principal officers of the person, firm,
association, partnership, or corporation.

(4) The school enrollment, by grade span, number of teachers, and
coeducational or enrollment limited to boys or girls.

(5) That the following records are maintained at the address
stated, and are true and accurate:

(A) The courses of study offered by the institution.

(B) The names and addresses, including city and street, of its
faculty, together with a record of the educational qualifications of
each faculty member.

(6) Criminal record summary information that has been obtained
pursuant to Section 44237.

(7) The heritage school telephone number.

(b) Whenever two or more heritage schools are under the effective
control or supervision of a single administrative unit, the
administrative unit may comply with the provisions of this section on
behalf of each of the schools under its control or supervision by
submitting one report.

(c) Filing pursuant to this section shall not be interpreted to
mean, and 1t shall be unlawful for any school to expressly or
impliedly represent, that the State of California, the
Superintendent, the state board, the department, or any division or
bureau of the department, or any accrediting agency has made any
evaluation, recognition, approval, or endorsement of the school or
course, unless this 1s an actual fact.

(d) Filing pursuant to this section does not grant a heritage
school any right to receive state funding.

33195.1. (a) Commencing January 1, 201!, the electronic
registration form filed with the Superintendent pursuant to Section
33195 shall, under penalty of perjury, include a statement
manifesting compliance with the following paragraph:

(1) A person, firm, association, partnership, or corporation
offering or conducting heritage school instruction shall not employ a
person who would be prohibited from employment by a public school

mhtml:file://U:\My Documents\2001\Conditional Use Permit\P11-0938 4160 Hacienda (L1...
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district pursuant to any provision of this code because of his or her
conviction for any crime.

{(b) In the case of any heritage school where an instructor also
serves as the administrator of the school, the electronic
registration form shall be made available upon request to the parents
or guardians of all pupils currently enrolled in the school and to
any parent or guardian considering whether to enroll his or her child
in the school.

33195.2. (a) Except as provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), if the
employees of any entity that has a contract with a heritage school
to provide any of the following services may have any contact with
pupils, those employees shall submit or have submitted their
fingerprints in a manner authorized by the Department of Justice
together with a fee determined by the Department of Justice to be
sufficient to reimburse the department for its costs incurred in
processing the application:

(1) School and classroom janitorial.

(2) Schoolsite administrative.

(3) Schoolsite grounds and landscape maintenance.

(4) Pupil transportation.

(5) Schoolsite food-related services.

(b) This section shall not apply to an entity providing any of the
services listed in subdivision (a) to a heritage school in an
emergency or exceptional situation, such as when a pupil's health or
safety is endangered or when repairs are needed to make school
facilities safe and habitable.

(c) This section shall not apply to an entity providing any of the
services listed in subdivision (a) to a heritage school when the
heritage school determines that the employees of the entity will have
limited contact with pupils. In determining whether a contract
employee has limited contact with pupils, the heritage school shall
consider the totality of the circumstances, including factors such as
the length of time the contractors will be on school grounds,
whether pupils will be in proximity with the site where the
contractors will be working, and whether the contractors will be
working by themselves or with others. If a heritage school has made
this determination, the heritage school shall take appropriate steps
to protect the safety of any pupils that may come in contact with
these employees.

(d) A heritage school may determine, on a case-by-case basis, to
require an entity providing schoolsite services other than those
listed in subdivision (a) or those described in Section 33195.3 and
the entity's employees to comply with the requirements of this
section, unless the heritage school determines that the employees of
the entity will have limited contact with pupils. In determining
whether a contract employee will have limited contact with pupils,
the heritage school shall consider the totality of the circumstances,
including factors such as the length of time the contractors will be
on school grounds, whether pupils will be in proximity with the site
where the contractors will be working, and whether the contractors
will be working by themselves or with others. If a heritage school
makes this determination, the heritage school shall take appropriate
steps to protect the safety of any pupils that may come in contact
with these employees. If a heritage school requires an entity

mhtml:file://U:\My Documents\2001\Conditional Use Permit\P11-0938 4160 Hacienda (LL... 3/27/2012



LA LOUES (BUCIID1YI-5519D.0)

providing services other than those listed in subdivision (a) and its
employees to comply with the requirements of this section, the
Department of Justice shall comply with subdivision (e).

(e) (1) The heritage school contractor shall submit to the
Department of Justice fingerprint images and related information
required by the Department of Justice of all employees of entities,
as 1dentified in subdivisions (a) and (d), that contract with a
heritage school, as defined in Section 33195.4, for the purposes of
obtaining information as to the existence and content of a record of
state or federal convictions and state or federal arrests and also
information as to the existence and content of a record of state and
federal arrests for which the Department of Justice establishes that
the person is free on bail or on his or her own recognizance pending
trail or appeal.

(2) When received, the Department of Justice shall forward to the
Federal Bureau of Investigation requests for federal summary criminal
history information received pursuant to this subdivision. The
Department of Justice shall review the information returned from the
Federal Bureau of Investigation and compile and disseminate a fitness
determination to the heritage school contractor.

(3) The Department of Justice shall provide a state response to
the heritage school contractor pursuant to paragraph (1) of
subdivision (p) of Section 11105 of the Penal Code.

(4) The heritage school contractor shall request from the
Department of Justice subsequent arrest notification service, as
provided pursuant to Section 11105.2 of the Penal Code, for employees
described in paragraph (1).

(5) The Department of Justice shall charge a fee sufficient to
cover the cost of processing the request described in the
subdivision.

(f) An entity having a contract as specified in subdivision (a)
and an entity required to comply with this section pursuant to
subdivision (d) shall not permit an employee to come in contact with
pupils until the Department of Justice has ascertained that the
employee has not been convicted of a felony as defined in Section
45122.1.

(1) This prohibition does not apply to an employee solely on the
basis that the employee has been convicted of a felony if the
emplovee has obtained a certificate of rehabilitation and pardon
pursuant to Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 4852.01) of Title 6
of Part 3 of the Penal Code.

(2) This prohibition does not apply to an employee solely on the
basis that the employee has been convicted of a serious felony that
1s not also a violent felony if that employee can prove to the
sentencing court of the offense in question, by clear and convincing
evidence, that he or she has been rehabilitated for the purposes of
schoolsite employment for at least one year. If the offense in
question occurred outside this state, then the person may seek a
finding of rehabilitation from the court having jurisdiction where he
or she 1s resident.

(g) An entity having a contract as specified in subdivision (a)
and an entity required to comply with this section pursuant to
subdivision (d) shall certify in writing to the heritage school that
neither the employer nor any of its employees who are required by
this section to submit or have their fingerprints submitted to the
Department of Justice and who may come in contact with pupils have
been convicted of a felony as defined in Section 45122.1.

mhtml:file://U:\My Documents\2001\Conditional Use Permit\P11-0938 4160 Hacienda (LI...
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(h) An entity having a contract as specified in subdivision (a) on
the effective date of the act adding this section and an entity
required to comply with this section pursuant to subdivision (d) by a
heritage school with which 1t has a contract on the effective date
of the act adding this section shall complete the requirements of
this section within 90 days of that date.

(1) Where reasonable access to the statewide electronic
fingerprinting network 1s available, the Department of Justice may
request electronic submission of the fingerprint cards and other
information required by this section.

33195.3. (a) A heritage school contracting with an entity for the
construction, reconstruction, rehabilitation, or repair of a school
facility where the employees of the entity will have contact, other
than limited contact, with pupils shall ensure the safety of the
pupils by one or more of the following methods:

(1) The installation of a physical barrier at the worksite to
[imit contact with pupils.

(2) Continual supervision and monitoring of all employees of the
ent1ty by an employee of the entity whom the Department of Justice
has ascertained has not been convicted of a violent or serious
felony. For purposes of this paragraph, an employee of the entity may
submit his or her fingerprints to the Department of Justice pursuant
to subdivision (a) of Section 33195.2 and the Department of Justice
shall comply with subdivision (d) of Section 33195.2.

(3) Surveillance of employees of the entity by school personnel.

(b) An entity that contracts with a heritage school for the
construction, reconstruction, rehabilitation, or repair of a school
facility is not required to comply with the requirements of Section
33195.2 if one or more of the methods described in subdivision (a) is
utilized.

(c) (1) This section shall not apply to an entity providing
construction, reconstruction, rehabilitation, or repair services to a
school facility in an emergency or exceptional situation, such as
when a pupil's health or safety is endangered or when repairs are
needed to make school facilities safe and habitable.

(2) For purposes of this section, a violent felony means any
felony listed in subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 of the Penal Code
and a serious felony means any felony listed in subdivision (c¢) of
Section 1192.7 of the Penal Code.

33195.4. For purposes of this article, "heritage school” means a
school that serves children who are at least 4 years and 9 months of
age and no older than 18 years of age, who attend a public or private
full-time day school, that does all of the following:

(a) Specifies regular hours of operation.

{(b) Offers education or academic tutoring, or both, in a foreign
language.

(c) Offers education on the culture, traditions, or history of a
country other than the United States.

(d) Offers culturally enriching activities, including, but not
limited to, art, dancing, games, or singing, based on the culture or
customs of a country other than the United States.

(e) Maintains membership in a state or national cultural or
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language association.

(f) Complies with relevant local government regulations, where
applicable.

(g) Does not operate out of a residential home.

(h) Complies with the requirements of Section 33195 and maintains
in 1ts possession a copy of the registration form electronically
filed with the Superintendent. The heritage school shall make this
form available upon request, including to the State Department of
Social Services, to verify exemption from child care licensure.

33195.5. (a) The Heritage Enrichment Resource Fund is hereby
established in the State Treasury. Moneys deposited in the fund may
be expended by the Superintendent upon appropriation by statute, for
the purposes of this article.

(b) The electronic registration form to be filed pursuant to this
article shall be filed together with a fee determined by the
Superintendent to be sufficient to cover, but not exceed, the costs
of the department in implementing this article. The fees shall be
deposited into the Heritage Enrichment Resource Fund. The fee shall
be received by the Superintendent no later than January 31 of each
year in which the registration form is filed.

33195.6. (a) A director of a heritage school shall undergo at least
15 hours of health and safety training. The training shall include
all of the following components:

(1) Pediatric first aid.

(2) Pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).

(3) A preventive health practices course or courses that include
instruction in the recognition, management, and prevention of
infectious diseases, including immunizations, and prevention of
childhood injuries.

(4) Training in pediatric first aid and CPR pursuant to paragraphs
(1) and (2) shall be provided by a program approved by the American
Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or the Emergency Medical
Services Authority pursuant to Section 1797.191 of the Health and
Safety Code.

(5) Training in preventive health practices pursuant to paragraph
(3) shall be provided by a training program approved by the Emergency
Medical Services Authority.

(6) In addition to the training programs specified in paragraphs
(4) and (5), training programs or courses in pediatric first aid,
pediatric CPR, and preventive health practices offered or approved by
an accredited postsecondary educational institution are considered
to be approved sources of training that may be used to satisfy the
training requirements of paragraphs (1) to (3), inclusive.

(7) Persons who, prior to the effective date of this section, have
completed a course or courses in preventive health practices as
described in paragraph (3), and have a certificate of completion of a
course or courses in preventive health practices, or certified
copies of transcripts that identify the number of hours and the
specific course or courses taken for training in preventive health
practices, shall be deemed to have met the training requirement for
preventive health practices pursuant to paragraph (3).
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(b) All employees and volunteers of a heritage school shall be in
good health, as verified by a health screening, including a test for
tuberculosis, performed by, or under the supervision of, a licensed
physician and surgeon.

(c) Pupils attending heritage schools shall have access to working
sinks, toilets, and drinking water.

(d) No pupil attending a heritage school shall have access to
medication or cleaning supplies, except as otherwise provided by law.

(e) A heritage school, as defined in Section 33195.4, shall not be
subject to licensure by the State Department of Social Services as a
child day care center pursuant to Chapter 3.4 (commencing with
Section 1596.70) or Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 1596.90) of
Division 2 of the Health and Safety Code.

(fy Upon a pupil's enrollment in a heritage school, the heritage
school shall provide a notice to the pupil's parent or guardian
stating that the heritage school 1s exempt from child care licensure,
and that attendance at a heritage school does not satisfy California’
s compulsory education requirements pursuant to Section 48200.

rage o or o
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CALIFORNIA CODES
EDUCATION CODE
SECTION 44237

44237. (a) Every person, firm, association, partnership, or
corporation offering or conducting private school instruction on the
elementary or high school level shall require each applicant for
employment in a position requiring contact with minor pupils who does
not possess a valid credential issued by the commission or is not
currently licensed by another state agency that requires a criminal
record summary that directly relates to services provided in a
facility described in this section and has background clearance
criteria that meets or exceeds the requirements of this section, to
submit two sets of fingerprints prepared for submittal by the
employer to the Department of Justice for the purpose of obtaining
criminal record summary information from the Department of Justice
and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

(b) (1) As used in this section, "employer”" means every person,
firm, association, partnership, or corporation offering or conducting
private school instruction on the elementary or high school level.

(2) As use in this section, "employment" means the act of engaging
the services of a person, who will have contact with pupils, to work
in a position at a private school at the elementary or high school
level on or after September 30, 1997, on a regular, paid full-time
basis, regular, paid part-time basis, or paid full- or part-time
seasonal basis.

(3) As used in this section, "applicant" means any person who is
seriously being considered for employment by an employer.

(4) This section does not apply to a secondary school pupil
working at the school he or she attends or a parent or legal guardian
working exclusively with his or her children.

(c) (1) Upon receiving the identification cards, the Department of
Justice shall ascertain whether the applicant has been arrested or
convicted of any crime insofar as that fact can be ascertained from
information available to the Department of Justice and forward the
information to the employer submitting the fingerprints no more than
15 working days after receiving the identification cards. The
Department of Justice shall not forward information regarding
criminal proceedings that did not result in a conviction but shall
forward information on arrests pending adjudication.

(2) Upon implementation of an electronic fingerprinting system
with terminals located statewide and managed by the Department of
Justice, the Department of Justice shall ascertain the information
required pursuant to this subdivision within three working days. If
the Department of Justice cannot ascertain the information required
pursuant to this subdivision within three working days, the
Department of Justice shall notify the employer submitting the
fingerprints that it cannot so ascertain the required information.
This notification shall be delivered by telephone or e-mail to the
employer submitting the fingerprints. If the employer submitting the
fingerprints is notified by the Department of Justice that it cannot
ascertain the required information about a person, the employer shall
not employ that person until the Department of Justice ascertains
that information.

(3) The Department of Justice shall review the criminal record
summary it obtains from the Federal Bureau of Investigation to
ascertain whether an applicant for employment has a conviction, or an



arrest pending final adjudication, for any sex offense, controlled
substance offense, crime of violence, or serious or violent felony.
The Department of Justice shall provide written notification to the
private school employer only as to whether an applicant for
employment has any convictions, or arrests pending final
adjudication, for any of these crimes.

(d) An employer shall not employ a person until the Department of
Justice completes its check of the state criminal history file as set
forth in this section.

(e) (1) An employer shall not employ a person who has been
convicted of a violent or serious felony or a person who would be
prohibited from employment by a public school district pursuant to
any provision of this code because of his or her conviction for any
crime.

(2) A person who would be prohibited from employment by a private
school pursuant to paragraph (1) may not, on or after July 1, 1999,
own or operate a private school offering instruction on the
elementary or high school level.

(f) An employer shall request subsequent arrest service from the
Department of Justice as provided under Section 11105.2 of the Penal
Code.

(g) This section applies to any violent or serious offense which,
if committed in this state, would have been punishable as a violent
or serious felony.

(h) For purposes of this section, a violent felony is any felony
listed in subdivision (c¢) of Section 667.5 of the Penal Code and a
serious felony is any felony listed in subdivision (c¢) of Section
1192.7 of the Penal Code.

(i) Notwithstanding subdivision (e), a person shall not be denied
employment or terminated from employment solely on the basis that the
person has been convicted of a violent or serious felony if the
person has obtained a certificate of rehabilitation and pardon
pursuant to Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 4852.01) of Title 6
of Part 3 of the Penal Code.

(j) Notwithstanding subdivision (e), a person shall not be denied
employment or terminated from employment solely on the basis that the
person has been convicted of a serious felony that is not also a
violent felony if that person can prove to the sentencing court of
the offense in question, by clear and convincing evidence, that he or
she has been rehabilitated for the purposes of school employment for
at least one year. If the offense in question occurred outside this
state, then the person may seek a finding of rehabilitation from the
court in the county in which he or she is a resident.

(k) The commission shall make available to each private school a
listing of all credentialholders who have had final adverse action
taken against their credential. The information shall be identical to
that made available to public schools in the state. The commission
shall also send on a quarterly basis a complete and updated list of
all teachers who have had their teaching credentials revoked or
suspended, excluding teachers who have had their credentials
reinstated, or who are deceased.

(1) The Department of Justice may charge a reasonable fee to cover
costs associated with the processing, reviewing, and supplying of
the criminal record summary as required by this section. The fee
shall not exceed the actual costs incurred by the Department of
Justice.

(m) Where reasonable access to the statewide electronic



fingerprinting network is available, the Department of Justice may
mandate electronic submission of the fingerprints and related
information required by this section.

(n) All information obtained from the Department of Justice is
confidential. Agencies handling Department of Justice information
shall ensure the following:

(1) A recipient shall not disclose its contents or provide copies
of information.

(2) Information received shall be stored in a locked file separate
from other files, and shall only be accessible to the custodian of
records.

(3) Information received shall be destroyed upon the hiring
determination in accordance with subdivision (a) of Section 708 of
Title 11 of the California Code of Regulations.

(4) Compliance with destruction, storage, dissemination, auditing,
backgrounding, and training requirements as set forth in Sections
700 to 708, inclusive, of Title 11 of the California Code of
Regulations and Section 11077 of the Penal Code governing the use and
security of criminal offender record information is the
responsibility of the entity receiving the information from the
Department of Justice.
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HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE
SECTION 1596.70-1596.799

1596.70. This chapter and Chapters 3.5 (commencing with Section
1596.90) and 3.6 (commencing with 1597.30) may be cited as the
California child pay Care Facilities Act.

1596.71. This chapter applies to Chapters 3.5 (commencing with
Section 1596.90) and 3.6 (commencing with Section 1597.30). This
chapter also applies to Chapter 3.65 (commencing with Section
1597.70).

1596.72. The Legislature finds all of the following:

(a) That child day care facilities can contribute positively to a
child's emotional, cognitive, and educational development.

(b) That it is the intent of this state to provide a
comprehensive, quality system for licensing child day care facilities
to ensure a quality day care environment.

(c) That this system of licensure requires a special understanding
of the unique characteristics and needs of the children served by
child day care facilities.

(d) That it is the intent of the Legislature to establish within
the State Department of Social Services an organizational structure
to separate licensing of child day care facilities from those
faci}ity types administered under Chapter 3 (commencing with Section
1500) .

(e) That good quality child day care services are an essential
service for working parents.

1596.73. The purposes of this act are to:

(a) streamline the administration of child care licensing and
thereby increase the efficiency and effectiveness of this system.

(b) Encourage the development of licensing staff with knowledge
and understanding of children and child care needs.

(c) pProvide providers of child care with technical assistance
about licensing requirements.

(d) Enhance consumer awareness of licensing requirements and the
benefits of Ticensed child care.

(e) Recognize that affordable, quality licensed child care is
critical to the well-being of parents and children in this state.

1596.74. unless the context otherwise requires, the definitions
contained in this chapter govern the construction of this chapter and
Chapters 3.5 (commencing with Section 1596.90) and 3.6 (commencing
with Section 1597.30).

1596.75. "child" means a person who is under 18 years of age who is
being provided care and supervision in a child day care facility,
except where otherwise specified in this act.

1596.750. "child day care facility" means a facility that provides
nonmedical care to children under 18 years of age in need of personal
services, supervision, or assistance essential for sustaining the
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activities of daily Tliving or for the protection of the individual on
less than a 24-hour basis. Child day care facility includes day care
centers, employer-sponsored child care centers, and family day care
homes.

1596.76. "Day care center" means any child day care facility other
than a family day care home, and includes infant centers, preschools,
extended day care facilities, and schoolage child care centers.

1596.77. '"Department" means the State Department of Social
Services.

1596.770. "Director" means the Director of Social Services.

1596.771. "Employer-sponsored child care center" means any child
day care facility at the employer's site of business operated
directly or through a provider contract by any person or entity
having one or more employees, and available exclusively for the care
of children of that employer, and of the officers, managers, and
employees of that employer.

1596.773. (a) "Probation" means the period of time that a licensed
child day care facility is required to comply with specific terms and
conditions set forth by the department in order to stay or postpone
the revocation of the facility's license.

(b) "Revocation" means an administrative action taken by the
department to void or rescind the Ticense of a child day care
facility because of serious or chronic violations of licensing Taws
or regulations by the facility.

1596.775. The Legislature finds and declares all of the following:

(a) There is a severe shortage of child care for schoolage
children throughout california, with many schoolage children going
home to an empty, unsupervised setting after school.

(b) For nearly five years several counties have participated in a
pilot program that allows for a family day care home to care for two
additional children above the current number allowed pursuant to
Ticensing regulations.

(c) As part of the pilot program, a study was conducted by the
Assembly Office of Research. The results of the study demonstrated
that the pilot program achieved all of the following results:

(1) Increased access to care for schoolage children.

(2) participating providers encountered few problems and strongly
support expansion of the program.

(3) pParents of children in the pilot program family day care homes
strongly support the program.

(4) Participating providers with additional children were no more
Tikely to receive substantiated complaints from licensing officials
than nonparticipants.

(5) Local governments and planning officials saw little or no
impact on their Ticensing policies and procedures.

(6) overall quality of care was not adversely affected.

1596.78. (a) "Family day care home" means a home that regularly
provides care, protection, and supervision for 14 or fewer children,
in the provider's own home, for periods of less than 24 hours per
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day, while the parents or guardians are away, and is either a large
family day care home or a small family day care home.

(b) "Large family day care home" means a home that provides family
day care for 7 to 14 children, inclusive, including children under
the age of 10 years who reside at the home, as set forth in Section
1597.465 and as defined in regulations.

(c) "small family day care home" means a home that provides family
day care for eight or fewer children, including children under the
age of 10 years who reside at the home, as set forth in Section
1597.44 and as defined in regulations.

1596.785. "Nonminor student" means a person 18 years of age or
older who qualifies as an individual with exceptional needs, as
defined in Section 56026 of the Education Code, and who qualifies for
services from a regional center for persons with developmental
disabilities, as a person with a developmental disability as defined
in subdivision (a) of Section 4512 of the welfare and Institutions
Code. The terms "child," "children," or "minor," as used in this
chapter or Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 1596.90), may also
include a nonminor student enrolled or retained at a schoolage child
care center.

1596.79. "Person" means an individual, partnership, association,
corporation, limited liability company, or governmental entity, such
as the state, a county, city, special district, school district,
community college district, chartered city, or chartered city and
county.

1596.790. "pPlanning agency" means the agency designated pursuant to
Section 65100 of the Government Code.

1596.791. "Provider" means a person who operates a child day care
facility and is licensed pursuant to Chapter 3.5 (commencing with
Section 1596.90) or 3.6 (commencing with Section 1597.30).

1596.7915. ‘"schoolage child care center" means a day care center or
part of a day care center that provides nonmedical care and
supervision, personal services, or assistance essential for
sustaining the activities of daily 1iving or for the protection of
schoolage children or nonminor students, or both, in a group setting
for less than 24 hours per day.

1596.792. This chapter, chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section
1596.90), and chapter 3.6 (commencing with Section 1597.30) do not
apply to any of the following:

(a) Any health facility, as defined by Section 1250.

(b) Any clinic, as defined by Section 1202.

(c) Any community care facility, as defined by Section 1502.

(d) Any family day care home providing care for the children of
only one family in addition to the operator's own children.

(e) Any cooperative arrangement between parents for the care of
their children when no payment is involved and the arrangement meets
all of the following conditions:

(1) In a cooperative arrangement, parents shall combine their
efforts so that each parent, or set of parents, rotates as the
responsible caregiver with respect to all the children in the
cooperative.
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(2) Any person caring for children shall be a parent, Tegal
guardian, stepparent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, or adult sibling of
at Teast one of the children in the cooperative.

(3) There can be no payment of money or receipt of in-kind income
in exchange for the provision of care. This does not prohibit in-kind
contributions of snacks, games, toys, blankets for napping, pillows,
and other materials parents deem appropriate for their children. It
is not the intent of this paragraph to prohibit payment for outside
activities, the amount of which may not exceed the actual cost of the
activity. - :

(4) No more than 12 children are receiving care in the same place
at the same time.

(f) Any arrangement for the receiving and care of children by a
relative.

(g) Any public recreation program. "Public recreation program"
means a program operated by the state, city, county, special
district, school district, community college district, chartered
city, or chartered city and county that meets either of the following
criteria:

(1) The program is operated only during hours other than normal
school hours for kindergarten and grades 1 to 12, inclusive, in the
public school district where the program is Tocated, or operated only
during periods when students in kindergarten and grades 1 to 12,
inclusive, are normally not in session in the public school district
where the program is located, for either of the following periods:

(A) For under 16 hours per week.

(B) For a total of 12 weeks or less during a 12-month period. This
total applies to any 12 weeks within any 12-month period, without
regard to whether the weeks are consecutive.

In determining "normal school hours" or periods when students are
"normally not in session," the State Department of Social Services
shall, when appropriate, consider the normal school hours or periods
when students are normally not in session for students attending a
year-round school.

(2) The program is provided to children who are over the age of
four years and nine months and not yet enrolled in school and the
program is operated during either of the following periods:

(A) For under 16 hours per week.

(B) For a total of 12 weeks or Tless during a 12-month period. This
total applies to any 12 weeks within any 12-month period, without
regard to whether the weeks are consecutive.

(3) The program is provided to children under the age of four
years and nine months with sessions that run 12 hours per week or
less and are 12 weeks or less in duration. A program subject to this
paragraph may permit children to be enrolled in consecutive sessions
throughout the year. However, the program shall not permit children
to be enrolled in a combination of sessions that total more than 12
hours per week for each child.

(h) Extended day care programs operated by public or private
schools.

(i) Any school parenting program or adult education child care
program that satisfies both of the following:

(1) Is operated by a public school district or operated by an
individual or organization pursuant to a contract with a public
school district.

(2) Is not operated by an organization specified in Section
1596.793.

(3) Any child day care program that operates only one day per week
for no more than four hours on that one day.

(k) Any child day care program that offers temporary child care
services to parents and that satisfies both of the following:

(1) The services are only provided to parents and guardians who
are on the same premises as the site of the child day care program.

(2) The child day care program is not operated on the site of a
ski facility, shopping mall, department store, or any other similar
site identified by the department by regulation.

(1) Any program that provides activities for children of an
instructional nature in a classroom-like setting and satisfies both
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of the following:

(1) Is operated only during periods of the year when students in
kindergarten and grades 1 to 12, inclusive, are normally not in
session in the public school district where the program is located
due to regularly scheduled vacations.

(2) offers any number of sessions during the period specified in
paragraph (1) that when added together do not exceed a total of 30
days when only schoolage children are enrolled in the program or 15
days when children younger than schoolage are enrolled in the
program.

(m) A program facility administered by the Department of
Corrections and Rehabilitation that (1) houses both women and their
children, and (2) is specifically designated for the purpose of
providing substance abuse treatment and maintaining and strengthening
the family unit pursuant to Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 3410)
of Title 2 of Part 3 of the Penal Code, or Chapter 4.8 (commencing
with Section 1174) of Title 7 of Part 2 of that code.

(n) Any crisis nursery, as defined in subdivision (a) of Section
1516.

(0) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1,
2014, and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted
sﬁatuge, that is enacted before January 1, 2014, deletes or extends
that date.

1596.792. This chapter, chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section
1596.90), and chapter 3.6 (commencing with Section 1597.30) do not
apply to any of the following:

(a) Any health facility, as defined by Section 1250.

(b) Any clinic, as defined by Section 1202.

(c) Any community care facility, as defined by Section 1502.

(d) Any family day care home providing care for the children of
only one family in addition to the operator's own children.

(e) Any cooperative arrangement between parents for the care of
their children when no payment is involved and the arrangement meets
all of the following conditions:

(1) In a cooperative arrangement, parents shall combine their
efforts so that each parent, or set of parents, rotates as the
responsible caregiver with respect to all the children in the
cooperative.

(2) Any person caring for children shall be a parent, Tlegal
guardian, stepparent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, or adult sibling of
at least one of the children in the cooperative.

(3) There can be no payment of money or receipt of in-kind income
in exchange for the provision of care. This does not prohibit in-kind
contributions of snacks, games, toys, blankets for napping, pillows,
and other materials parents deem appropriate for their children. It
is not the intent of this paragraph to prohibit payment for outside
activities, the amount of which may not exceed the actual cost of the
activity.

(4) No more than 12 children are receiving care in the same place
at the same time.

(f) Any arrangement for the receiving and care of children by a
relative.

(@) Any public recreation program. "Public recreation program"
means a program operated by the state, city, county, special
district, school district, community college district, chartered
city, or chartered city and county that meets either of the following
criteria:

(1) The program is operated only during hours other than normal
school hours for kindergarten and grades 1 to 12, inclusive, 1in the
public school district where the program is located, or operated only
during periods when students in kindergarten and grades 1 to 12,
inclusive, are normally not in session in the public school district
where the program is Tocated, for either of the following periods:

(A) For under 16 hours per week.

(B) For a total of 12 weeks or less during a 12-month period. This
total applies to any 12 weeks within any 12-month period, without
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regard to whether the weeks are consecutive.

In determining "normal school hours" or periods when students are
"normally not in session,” the State Department of Social Services
shall, when appropriate, consider the normal school hours or periods
when students are normally not in session for students attending a
year-round school.

(2) The program is provided to children who are over the age of
four years and nine months and not yet enrolled in school and the
program is operated during either of the following periods:

(A) For under 16 hours per week.

(B) For a total of 12 weeks or less during a 12-month period. This
total applies to any 12 weeks within any 12-month period, without
regard to whether the weeks are consecutive.

(3) The program is provided to children under the age of four
years and nine months with sessions that run 12 hours per week or
lTess and are 12 weeks or less in duration. A program subject to this
paragraph may permit children to be enrolled in consecutive sessions
throughout the year. However, the program shall not permit children
to be enrolled in a combination of sessions that total more than 12
hours per week for each child.

(h) Extended day care programs operated by public or private
schools.

(i) Any school parenting program or adult education child care
program that satisfies both of the following:

(1) Is operated by a public school district or operated by an
individual or organization pursuant to a contract with a public
school district.

(2) Is not operated by an organization specified in Section
1596.793.

(3) Any child day care program that operates only one day per week
for no more than four hours on that one day.

(k) Any child day care program that offers temporary child care
services to parents and that satisfies both of the following:

(1) The services are only provided to parents and guardians who
are on the same premises as the site of the child day care program.

(2) The child day care program is not operated on the site of a
ski facility, shopping mall, department store, or any other similar
site identified by the department by regulation.

(1) Any program that provides activities for children of an
instructional nature in a classroom-Tike setting and satisfies both
of the following:

(1) 1s operated only during periods of the year when students in
kindergarten and grades 1 to 12, inclusive, are normally not in
session in the public school district where the program is Tlocated
due to regularly scheduled vacations.

(2) offers any number of sessions during the period specified in
paragraph (1) that when added together do not exceed a total of 30
days when only schoolage children are enrolled in the program or 15
days when children younger than schoolage are enrolled in the
program.

(m) A program facility administered by the Department of
Corrections that (1) houses both women and their children, and (2) is
specifically designated for the purpose of providing substance abuse
treatment and maintaining and strengthening the family unit pursuant
to Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 3410) of Title 2 of Part 3 of
the Penal Code, or Chapter 4.8 (commencing with Section 1174) of
Title 7 of Part 2 of that code.

(n) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2014.

1596.793. This chapter and chapters 3.5 (commencing with Section
1596.90) and 3.6 (commencing with Section 1597.30) do not apply to
recreation programs conducted for children by the Girl Scouts, Boy
Scouts, Boys Club, Girls Club, or Camp Fire, or similar organizations
as determined by regulations of the department. child day care
programs conducted by these organizations and the fees charged for
that specific purpose are subject to the requirements of this
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chapter, Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 1596.90), and Chapter
3.6 (commencing with Section 1597.30).

1596.794. The department shall serve as the liaison to child day
care facilities for the purposes of Sections 17608 to 17613,
inclusive, of the Education Code.

1596.795. (a) The smoking of tobacco in a private residence that is
Ticensed as a family day care home shall be prohibited during the
hours of operation as a family day care home and in those areas of
the family day care home where children are present. Nothing in this
section shall prohibit a city or county from enacting or enforcing an
ordinance relating to smoking in a family day care home if the
ordinance is more stringent than this section.

(b) The smoking of tobacco on the premises of a licensed day care
center shall be prohibited.

1596.796. Notwithstanding any other provision of Taw, payments are
not required to be made to any person who provides child care
services and is exempt from the licensing requirements of this
chapter, Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 1596.90), or chapter
3.6 (commencing with Section 1597.30) if that person either is known
to have tuberculosis, or to have been convicted of any crime
involving violence against, or abuse or neglect of, children.

This section shall not be construed to create an affirmative duty
on any individual, government body, or other entity paying for child
care to investigate the person to whom payments are being made nor
shall it be construed to create any liability for failure to
investigate that person.

To the extent that this section 1is inconsistent with federal Tlaw,
it shall be inoperative.

1596.797. (a) Blood glucose testing for the purposes of monitoring

a minor child diagnosed with diabetes may be performed in a child day
care facility in accordance with paragraph (6) of subdivision (b) of
Section 1241 of the Business and Professions Code.

(b) Nothing in this section, or 1in any other provision of law,
including, but not Timited to, Section 1241 or 2058 of the Business
and Professions Code, shall require an insulin injection to be
administered to any child in a child day care facility.

1596.798. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, licensees
and staff of a child day care facility may administer inhaled
medication to a child if all of the following requirements are met:

(1) The 1licensee or staff person has been provided with written
authorization from the minor's parent or Tlegal guardian to administer
inhaled medication and authorization to contact the child's health
care provider. The authorization shall include the telephone number
and address of the minor's parent or legal guardian.

(2) The licensee or staff person complies with specific written
instructions from the child's physician to which all of the following
shall apply:

(A) The dinstructions shall contain all of the following
information:

(1) specific indications for administering the medication pursuant
to the physician's prescription.

(i11) Potential side effects and expected response.

(i11) Dose-form and amount to be administered pursuant to the
physician's prescription.

http://www .leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=15... 3/27/2012



LA L0aes (NSC: 1390, /U-1390./9Y) rage ¥ ot ¥

(iv) Actions to be taken in the event of side effects or
incomplete treatment response pursuant to the physician's
prescription.

(v) Instructions for proper storage of the medication.

(vi) The telephone number and address of the child's physician.

(B) The instructions shall be updated annually.

(3) The Ticensee or staff person that administers the inhaled
medication to the child shall record each instance and provide a
record to the minor's parent or legal guardian on a daily basis.

(4) Beginning January 1, 2000, a licensee or staff person who
obtains or renews a pediatric first aid certificate pursuant to
Section 1596.866 shall complete formal training designed to provide
instruction in administering inhaled medication to children with
respiratory needs. This training shall include, but not be Timited
to, training in the general use of nebulizer equipment and inhalers,
how to clean the equipment, proper storage of inhaled medication, how
a child should respond to inhaled medication, what to do in cases of
emergency, how to identify side effects of the medication, and when
to notify a parent or legal guardian or physician. This training
shall be a component in the pediatric first aid certificate
requirement as provided in Section 1596.8661.

(5) For a specified child, the Ticensee or staff person who
administers inhaled medication has been instructed to administer
inhaled medication by the child's parent or guardian.

(6) Beginning January 1, 2000, any training materials pertaining
to nebulizer care that licensees or staff receive in the process of
obtaining or renewing a pediatric first aid certificate pursuant to
paragraph (4) shall be kept on file at the child care facility. The
materials shall be made available to a licensee or staff person who
administers inhaled medication. This requirement shall only apply to
the extent that training materials are made available to licensees or
staff who obtain or renew a pediatric first aid certificate pursuant
to paragraph (4).

(b) For purposes of this section, inhaled medication shall refer
to medication prescribed for the child to control lung-related
ilTness, including, but not limited to, local held nebulizers.

(c) Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to require a
certificated teacher who provides day care pursuant to Chapter 2
(commencing with Section 8200) of Part 6 of the Education Code in a
pubTlic school setting to administer inhaled medication.

1596.799. (a) Notwithstanding Section 1597.05 or any other
provision of law, any day care center that exclusively offers a
program of services for which there is no contract or agreement
between any parent and the center for the regular care of any child,
and for which there 1is no prearranged schedule of care for any child,
shall not be required to do either of the following:

(1) verify children's immunizations or tuberculosis testing.

(2) Maintain files regarding children's immunizations or
tuberculosis testing.

(b) Upon admission of a child, the parent shall sign an
acknowledgment that he or she understands that verification of
immunizations and tuberculosis testing is not required for any child
accepted in this type of program.

(c) This section shall not be construed to exempt a day care
center from any other licensing requirement.

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=15... 3/27/2012
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1596.90. No day care center for children shall be licensed under
Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 1500), but shall be subject to
Ticensure exclusively in accordance with this chapter and Chapter 3.4
(commencing with Section 1596.70).

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=15... 3/27/2012



EXHIBIT F

Jenny Soo

From: ping zheng

Sent: Thursday, March 29, 2012 8:23 PM
To: Jenny Soo

March 29, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,

We have just received a notification saying that there is going to be another tutoring
facility/private school of PUD-80-16-15M Academic Center of Volitation in our
surrounding area {5000, 5020, 5064, 5100, 5142, and 5200 Franklin Drive and 6155
Stoneridge Drive). From the notice we understand that the plan was approved and
to be having a minor modification.

There have two schools started since May 2011. We provide academic tutoring for
group and private lessons to the after school students. In the area there is one
more similar service center. As we understand that is providing satisfied tutoring
service for the surrounding area. And also we still have more capacity that is able to
help more students.

Based on the above circumstances it is not necessary to have any other similar

academic tutoring service in the surrounding area. We oppose the plan and would
like the Planning Commission/City Council to have it re-discussed.

Sincerely Yours,

Click here to report this email as spam.
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