

Youth Commission Regular Meeting Minutes

September 13, 2023 – 7 p.m.

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Shah called to order the regular meeting of the Youth Commission at 7:01 p.m. from the Remillard Room at the Operation Services Center, 3333 Bush Rd.

Chair led the Pledge of Allegiance and provided opening remarks.

ROLL CALL

- Present: Commissioners Sriram, Chew, Kunde, Lam, Madabhavi, McGovern, Parikh, Prakash, Saxena, Shah and Chair Shah
- Absent: Commissioners Min, Mokashi, Shannon

AGENDA AMENDMENTS

None.

MINUTES

1. Approve regular meeting minutes of May 10, 2023.

MOTION: It was m/s by Saxena/Sriram to approve the regular meeting minutes of May 10, 2023. Motion was passed by the following vote:

- Ayes: Commissioners Chew, Kunde, Lam, Madabhavi, McGovern, Parikh, Prakash, Saxena, Shah, and chair Shah.
- Noes: None
- Absent: Commissioners Min, Mokashi and Shannon.

2. Approve special meeting minutes of August 30, 2023.

MOTION: It was m/s by Abhee Shah/Prakash to approve the special meeting minutes of August 30, 2023. Motion was passed by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners Chew, Kunde, Lam, Madabhavi, McGovern, Parikh, Prakash, Saxena, Shah, Sriram, and chair Shah.
Noes: None
Absent: Commissioners Min, Mokashi and Shannon.

MEETING OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

3. Public Comment from the audience regarding items not listed on the agenda.

Chair Shah opened public comment.

There being no speakers Chair Shah closed the item for public comment.

MATTERS FOR THE COMMISSION'S REVIEW/ACTION/INFORMATION

Item 4 – Selection of Commission Chair and Vice Chair for School Year 2023/24

Public comment: None

MOTION: It was m/s by Abhee Shah/Parikh to appoint commissioner Anya Saxena to Vice Chair and commissioner Zaynah Shah to Chair.

Motion was passed by the following vote:

- Ayes: Commissioners Chew, Kunde, Lam, Madabhavi, McGovern, Parikh, Prakash, Saxena, Shah, Sriram and chair Shah.
- Noes: None
- Absent: Commissioners Min, Mokashi and Shannon.

Item 5 – Review and Approve Commission Meeting Schedule for School Year 2023/24

Public comment: None

MOTION: It was m/s by Prakash/Abhee Shah to approve commission meeting schedule for school year 2023/24

Motion was passed by the following vote:

- Ayes: Commissioners Chew, Kunde, Lam, Madabhavi, McGovern, Parikh, Prakash, Saxena, Shah, Sriram and chair Shah.
- Noes: None
- Absent: Commissioners Min, Mokashi and Shannon.

Item 6 – Selection of Committee Assignments for School Year 2023/24

Public comment: None

MOTION: It was m/s by Prakash/Abhee Shah to approve the following committee assignments for school year 2023/24:

BPTC - None

Ptownlife Website: Commissioners: Madabhavi, Kunde YIG – Commissioners: Prakash, Lam, Parikh, Sriram Outreach – Commissioners: McGovern, Zayanah Shah, Parikh, Saxena, Abhee Shah

Motion was passed by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners Chew, Kunde, Lam, Madabhavi, McGovern, Parikh, Prakash, Saxena, Shah, Sriram and chair Shah.
Noes: None
Absent: Commissioners Min, Mokashi and Shannon.

Item 7 – Recreation Programs Update

None.

Item 8 – Bike, Pedestrian, and Trail Committee Update

None.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Shah adjourned the meeting at 7:42 p.m.